Watch Live as MAVEN Meets Mars!

No Comment 1 View


MAVEN Meets Mars on Sept. 21, 2014. Credit: NASA.

MAVEN Meets Mars on Sept. 21, 2014. Credit: NASA.

Watch here live, below, for a Mars orbital insertion of a Mars Atmosphere and Volatile Evolution (MAVEN) spacecraft, on Sunday, Sep 21 (or early Sept. 22 depending on your time zone) from 9:30 to 10:45 p.m. EDT, 01:30 to 02:45 UTC). The NASA TV promote feed will issue from a Lockheed Martin Facility in Littleton, Colorado, and will underline live camera views of idea control, interviews with comparison NASA officials and idea group members, and idea video footage. The spacecraft’s idea timeline will place a booster in circuit during approximately 9:50 p.m. EDT (01:50 UTC).

Broadcast live streaming video on Ustream

Coverage will hang adult with a post-orbit insertion news conference, targeted for about dual hours after orbital insertion begins.

Members of a open are invited to follow a day-long NASA Social eventuality on Sunday by following a hashtags #MAVEN and #JourneytoMars on amicable media channels including Twitter, Instagram and Facebook. Twitter updates will be posted via on a agency’s central accounts @NASA, @MAVEN2Mars and @NASASocial.

MAVEN launched Nov. 18, 2013, from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida, carrying 3 instrument packages. It is a initial booster dedicated to exploring a top atmosphere of Mars. The mission’s idea is to establish how a detriment of windy gas to space played a purpose in changing a Martian meridian by time.


Nancy Atkinson on Google+

About 

Nancy Atkinson is Universe Today’s Senior Editor. She also works with Astronomy Cast, and is a NASA/JPL Solar System Ambassador.

In : Lifestyle

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked (required)

*

code

Mojo Marketplace