Matt Williams wins NL Manager of Year; Giants’ Bochy third

No Comment 0 View

  • Giants manager Bruce Bochy speaks during a championship march rite on Friday, Oct 31, 2014 in a Civic Center of San Francisco, Calif. Photo: Beck Diefenbach / Special To The Chronicle / ONLINE_YES

A skipper with San Francisco ball in his DNA was named National League Manager of a Year on Tuesday, nonetheless it was not a male who got to take a Champagne bath after winning a World Series nonetheless again.

Rookie manager Matt Williams won a endowment in a exile after running a Nationals to 96 wins and an East Division title. Williams was a Giants third baseman from 1987 by ’96.

Last year’s winner, Clint Hurdle of a Pirates, finished second. Bruce Bochy was third, a informed mark for a Giants’ manager. He also finished third in 2010 and 2012 after running a group to World Series championships.

Two members of a Baseball Writers’ Association of American from any NL city voted for a award, inventory their tip 3 choices.

Like a other BBWAA awards — Rookie of a Year, Most Valuable Player and Cy Young — ballots contingency be submitted before a initial postseason diversion since a awards are meant to simulate opening over a prolonged transport of a unchanging season.

Williams perceived 18 of 30 first-place votes. Hurdle got 8 and Bochy three. The other first-place opinion went to a Marlins’ Mike Redmond.

Bochy’s first-place votes came from Tim Kawakami of a San Jose Mercury News, Chris Jenkins of a San Diego Union-Tribune and Ryan Fagan of a Sporting News, representing a Atlanta section of a writers’ association.

Bochy also perceived 3 second-place votes and 6 third-place votes in finshing behind dual managers who watched a World Series during home after a Giants suspended their teams.

In a discussion call after a announcement, Williams called Bochy “one of a best managers in a game. we consider there are many reasons for that. One, he understands a diversion itself and how to manage. He understands and has a honour of his players. He’s been there and he’s finished it. We all aspire to be as good as Boch is.

“I’ve finished a lot of interviews today. One strenuous thesis is, there is no discuss anymore that he will be a Hall of Fame manager.”

The Manager of a Year formula competence have looked opposite had a postseason been considered, generally after Williams was criticized for stealing starter Jordan Zimmermann with dual outs in a ninth inning and a 1-0 lead in Game 2 of a Division Series opposite a Giants.

Pablo Sandoval tied a diversion with a double opposite closer Drew Storen. The Giants won on Brandon Belt’s 18th-inning homer and took a array .

Bochy has won Manager of a Year once in 20 seasons, with San Diego in 1996. The Padres’ Bud Black won in 2010 after a Giants edged San Diego for a West title. The Nationals’ Davey Johnson won in 2012.

Bochy’s competition in a 2014 World Series, Ned Yost of a Royals, finished third in this year’s American League Manager of a Year balloting.

The Orioles’ Buck Showalter coasted to his third such respect with 25 of 30 first-place votes. The Angels’ Mike Scioscia was second with 4 firsts. The Mariners’ Lloyd McClendon got a final first-place vote, nonetheless Yost finished forward of McClendon on a strength of 11 seconds and 8 thirds.

Henry Schulman is a San Francisco Chronicle staff writer. E-mail: Twitter: @hankschulman

In : Sports

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked (required)



Mojo Marketplace